Another bad call…

MIKE TRIPLETT
ESPN Staff Writer

NEW ORLEANS — Another controversial officiating mistake nearly cost the New Orleans Saints in their return to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome on Monday night.

NFL senior vice president of officiating Al Riveron admitted that the Saints should have had 15 more seconds to work with during their hurry-up drive at the end of the first half, which resulted in a missed 56-yard field goal attempt.

Fortunately for the Saints, they got a redo when kicker Wil Lutz nailed the winning 58-yarder as time expired in their 30-28 victory over the Houston Texans.

“Listen, that can’t happen. I mean, that’s a game-changer, right?” Saints quarterback Drew Brees said after the game. “We end up having to kick a [56-yarder] or whatever it was. If we had 15 more seconds, are you kidding me? We’re gonna get closer.

“So that’s a game-changer. That can’t happen.”

Saints fans booed the officials relentlessly during those final seconds of the first half — which was reminiscent of the previous game in this building. The Saints lost the NFC Championship Game here in January in large part because of the infamous blown pass interference call against the Los Angeles Rams that led to groundbreaking replay rule changes in the offseason.

In Monday’s case, referee John Hussey correctly called for a 10-second runoff after officials reviewed the spot following a 17-yard catch by Saints receiver Michael Thomas, since he was tackled in bounds. (The Saints could have avoided the 10-second runoff if they wanted to use their final timeout instead, but they declined.)

However, Riveron said the officials should have first reset the game clock to 41 seconds, because that’s how much time was left when Thomas was whistled down. So, the Saints should have snapped the ball again with 31 seconds remaining. Instead, Riveron said the officials “inadvertently set it to 26” seconds, which was the amount of time left on the clock when they called for the review.

That left the Saints with just 16 seconds remaining. Riveron, who handles reviews from New York, was in contact with Hussey during the review of Thomas’ catch.

Saints coach Sean Payton didn’t appear to realize the league had admitted its error during his postgame news conference, when he said, “It is what it is,” adding that the rule calls for a 10-second runoff. Still, Payton was disappointed officials had to review the spot in the first place, since he believes Thomas should have been granted the first down right away.

“To me, it was pretty obvious he made the yards to gain,” Payton said.

Take ESPN Everywhere
Download the #1 sports app
© 2019 ESPN Internet Ventures. Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, Your California Privacy Rights, Children’s Online Privacy Policy and Interest-Based Ads are applicable to you. All rights reserved.Footer
Help
Report a Bug
Contact Us
Corrections
Advertise on ESPN.com
Sales Media Kit
Jobs at ESPN
ESPN Front Row
ESPN Press Room
Site Map
Patents
About Nielsen Measurement
ESPN+ Subscriber Agreement
Sports
NFL
NBA
MLB
NCAAF
Soccer
MMA
Analytics
Boxing
CFL
Chalk
College Sports
Cricket
esports
F1
Golf
Horse Racing
Little League World Series
NASCAR
NBA G League
NCAAM
NCAAW
NCAA Softball
NHL
Olympic Sports
Racing
Recruiting BB
Recruiting FB
Rugby
Special Olympics
Tennis
WNBA
WWE
X Games
More
Fantasy
Listen
Watch
ESPN+

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s